Pssst! Come see me and other children’s authors at the Hay Festival!

Hello mini-Hay people!
Candy Gourlay, author of Tall Story;

Candy Gourlay, here! I’m a one of those annoying newby authors (BUY TALL STORY) desperate to meet her readers. I made a video to tell you all about the Hay Festival! If you can’t see it below, click here to watch it.

I thought making this video would be a lot easier than writing an entire blog post. Guess what … it was actually harder – mainly because you have to be careful not to steal other people’s photos. But I found photos in the end, and had a great time adding the sound effects!

So YOUR take away from this blog post is this:

Come to Hay
Come and see ME at Hay!

On May 30, 4pm, I will be appearing in a panel with my favourite author Geraldine McCaughrean.

 Geraldine McCaughrean

Geraldine will be talking about her awesome, awesome new book Pull Out All the Stops – I loved it so much, I reviewed it on Amazon – check out my review!

Pull Out All the Stops by Geraldine McCaughrean

Heading the panel and asking lots of cute questions will be author-illustrator Sarah McIntyre.

Sarah McIntyre

Sarah loved Geraldine McCaughrean’s book so much she reviewed it on the Solitary Bee blog … it was the coolest looking review with pages like this:

Artwork by Sarah McIntyre

Oh … and when we’re not drooling over how awesome Geraldine’s books are, we’re going to talk about my book, TALL STORY. It’s about a boy who’s eight feet tall. It’s also got giants and earthquakes and basketball. You can check out my Tall Story website here … maybe buy a few copies … hint, hint.

On May 31, also at 4pm, I’m going to be talking about writing, how I wrote my book TALL STORY, and how you too can WRITE and have fun at the same time! You can sign up for the event right here.

Tall Story by Candy Gourlay, winner of the Crystal Kite Prize for Europe
(And did I tell you that Tall Story just only just won the Crystal Kite Prize for Europe given by the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators? There, now you know!)

If you’ve never been to HAY, don’t worry, I’VE NEVER BEEN TO HAY EITHER! It will be

AWESOMELICIOUS!

See you there!

Candy Gourlay
(Your friendly children’s author)

Photo by Finn Beales, Images hosted by Flickr

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pssst! Come see me and other children’s authors at the Hay Festival!

  1. Polly James says:

    Can’t wait to see you at Hay this year Candy, all of this sounds fantastic!

  2. Those photos are amazing! I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

