The Scribblers interview Steve Cole

Quick-fire questions:

Q: Glass half full or half empty?

A: What glass? Where is this glass? I’d probably say the glass is probably half full.

Q: Text or call?

A: Text. Talk to people? That’s so last century, what’s that about?

Q: Notebook or laptop?

A: Laptop.

Q: Bunk bed – top or bottom?

A: Top. Who’d want bottom? Looking at someone’s butt…

Generic questions:

Q: If you could be any fictional character from a book or film, excluding your own, who would it be?

A: I’d like to be Spiderman, I’d love to be bitten by a radioactive spider, it was always my dream – I used to ask my mum to take me to a radioactive farm.

Q: If you had the day off and money was no object, what would you do?

A: I would go to the dessert in a 4×4. I’ve done it before and it was really fun, in a cool hat.

Q: If you had a superpower, what would it be?

A: I would like to be invisible because then I could sneak up on people and scare them. I would also like to fly and get out of traffic jams.

Q: What would be your ideal workplace?

A: Probably somewhere by the sea or in a hotel, somewhere different.

Q: What is your favourite part of the writing process?

A: Finishing it.

Special questions:

Q: Which of your own books is your favourite?

A: Well, I’ve written 165 books. The first one’s about TV shows… and I’m very proud of the Young Bond books. I’ve also written a series about space with 24 books in total.

Q: When did you start writing?

A: I started when I was quite young. I knew I wanted to work with words. I wrote some poems when I was little. In 1997 I wrote a lot of Doctor Who books and I liked the switch between editing and writing. It’s an unusual way of getting into it.

Q: Did you always want to write when you were younger?

A: I always wanted to be a writer and I used to draw front covers with the words STEVE COLE and then a little picture. I started lots of books but never finished them. When I was in my 20s I realised I could write a book. Before I finished a book, I did want to be a writer but I didn’t think I was practical.

Q: If you had to write a non-fiction book, what would it be about?

A: If I was to write a non-fiction book it would be about gadgets from the 1930s, like the one-wheeled motorbike where you sit in the middle.

Leave a Reply

